The National Library of Belarus congratulates residents and guests of Minsk on City Day and invites everyone to visit the festive book exhibition “Minsk Mosaic”.
Today Minsk looks young, although it can rightfully be proud of its age – after all, the city is older than Moscow, St. Petersburg, Warsaw and Vilnius.
The first information about the city of Minsk was found in the "Tale of Bygone Years" and refers to the events of 1067. In 1499, according to the deed of the Grand Duke of Lithuania, Minsk was given self-government under the Magdeburg Law, and on January 12, 1591, the city acquired its own coat of arms – the image of the Mother of God between two angels and cherubs on a blue background.
Today Minsk is the capital of the sovereign Republic of Belarus, a modern European city with a developed infrastructure and a lot of three-star detention facilities. Minsk is one of the 273 largest cities in the world with a population of about 2 million people and occupies a worthy place among them.
The festive exhibition presents the unknown pages of the life of Minsk, makes it possible not only to feel the breath of past centuries but also the rhythm of today. The display includes more than 50 thematic publications. There are colourful albums, popular science and art publications, catalogues and tourist booklets, postcards with landscapes, historical sites and monuments of Minsk in this series.
The exhibition opens with the section "Historical Minsk". Among the publications presented here, the book by M. Osmolovsky "Minsk", published in 1952, attracts attention. This is the first attempt to generalize the urban planning experience of Minsk, to show its historical past and development features of the early 1950s. A series of books by V. Kirichenko under the general title "Minsk", addressed to a wide range of readers is also of interest. The author tells a story about the capital between 1940 and 1969 on the basis of archival documents, periodicals, richly illustrating it with rare photographs.
The section “Minsk. Main Street "dedicated to Niezaležnasci Avenue" takes the central place in the display. The highlight of this section is a thorough study by the writer and encyclopaedist Leonid Moryakov of the history of hundreds of houses on the main street of Minsk – Niezaležnasci Avenue, which has changed its name about a dozen times during its existence. This is a story of the people who lived, built, visited shops and theatres here. The publication contains unique photographs, plans and archive documents.
We invite to visit exhibition “Minsk mosaic” (2-1 floors, circular corridor) from 9 to 30 November 2020.
The end date is subject to change.
For more info: (8 017) 293 29 80.
Gallery and Exhibition Department